Barguna District:

Barisal District (Barisal division) with an area of 2790.51 sq km is bounded by madaripur, shariatpur, chandpur and lakshmipur districts on the north, patuakhali, barguna and jhalokati districts on the south, bhola and Lakshmipur districts on the east, Jhalokati, pirojpur and gopalganj districts on the west. Annual average temperature: maximum 35.1C, minimum 12.1C; annual rainfall 1955 mm. Noted rivers are lower meghna, arial khan, katcha, kirtankhola, tentulia, Naya Bhanga, Jayanti, Shwarupkathi and Amtali.

Barisal (Town) consists of 30 wards and 50 mahallas. The area of the town is 16.37 sq km. Barisal municipality was established in 1957 and was turned into a city corporation in 2000. It has a population of 202242; male 53.28%, female 46.72%. Literacy rate among the town people is 65%. The town has three dakbungalows and six police outposts.

Administration Bakerganj disrict was established in 1797. Later on it was renamed as Barisal district. Barisal was declared a division on 1 January, 1993. The district consists of one city corporation, five municipalities, 66 wards, 111 mahallas, 10 upazilas, 86 union parishads, 1147 mouzas and 1175 villages. The upazilas are agailjhara, babuganj, bakerganj, banaripara, gournadi, hizla, barisal sadar, mehendiganj, muladi, wazirpur.


demo spot , demo spot , demo spot , demo spot , demo spot ,