Pirojpur District:

Pirojpur District (barisal division) with an area of 1307.61 sq km, is bounded by gopalganj and barisal districts on the north, barguna district on the south, jhalokati district on the east, bagerhat district on the west. Annual average temperature: maximum 35.5C, minimum 12.5C; annual rainfall 1710 mm. Main rivers are Baleshwar, Katcha, Kaliganga and Sandhya..

Pirojpur (Town) stands on the bank of the Damodor and consists of 9 wards and 30 mahallahs. The area of the town is 15.12 sq km. It has a population of 51219; male 51.66%, female 48.34%. Density of population is 3387 per sq km. Literacy rate among the town people is 66.1%. Pirojpur Municipality was established in 1886. The main business centre of the town is Rajarhat. The town has one dakbungalow.

Administration Pirojpur district was established in 1984. It consists of three municipalities, 6 upazilas, 51 union parshads, 399 mouzas and 645 villages, 27 wards and 54 mahallas. The upazilas are bhandaria, kawkhali, mathbaria, nazirpur, pirojpur sadar and nesarabad.


Population 1126525; male 50.02%, female 49.98%; Muslim 79.01%, Hindu 20.91% and others 0.08%.

Religious institutions:

Mosque 2556, temple 594, church 1, sacred place 4, tomb 2.

Main occupations:

Agriculture 35.3%, agricultural labourer 17.05%, wage labourer 5.71%, commerce 16.2%, service 7.25%, fishing 2.68%, transport 1.64%, construction 1.28% and others 12.89%.

Traditional transport:

Palanquin (extinct) and boat.

Main hats, bazars and fairs:

Hats and bazars are 230, fair 8.

Health centres:

Hospital 2, upazila health complex 6, union health and family planning centre 42, maternity and child welfare centre 1, satellite clinic 12, palli health services clinic 53.


demo spot , demo spot , demo spot , demo spot , demo spot ,